Learner's Permit

California Learner's Permit Test

The California DMV (Department of Motor Vehicles) is responsible for licensing the drivers of California, registration & title, investigating complaints, and maintaining records. The CA DMV collects over $6.5B annually in revenues. The driver license section of the CA DMV offers a wealth of resources, from FAQs to manuals to written practice tests. You can also use the CA DMV website to schedule an appointment and find driver test locations.

Study Material Available

DMVCheatSheets.com offers a variety of options to help you easily prepare for and pass the California Learner's Permit Test.
Sample
View_sample
Sample
Georgia-2
Georgia-3
Georgia-4
List Price:
$12.95
Our Price:
$9.95
You Save:
$3.00 (23%)
The California DMV Cheat Sheet is a downloadable, immediately accessible 3-4 page reference guide featuring the top 50 questions and answers to help you easily pass your California driving written test.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

English, Spanish, Korean, Japanese and more.
Add To Cart
Img1
View_sample
Img1
Img2
Img3
Img4
List Price:
$19.95
Our Price:
$14.95
You Save:
$5.00 (25%)
The California DMV Online Practice Test lets you immediately review over 100 multiple choice questions and answers similar to those you will come up against when taking the California DMV exam. Our practice tests cover every chapter of the CA DMV manual including rules of the road, traffic signals, laws, signs and safety.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

English, Spanish, Korean, Japanese and more.
Add To Cart
Sample
View_sample
Sample
Georgia-4
Georgia-2
Georgia-3
Img1
Img3
Img4
Img2
List Price:
$32.90
Our Price:
$19.95
You Save:
$12.95 (39%)
Included in this bundle:
  • California DMV Cheat Sheet
  • California DMV Online Practice Test
The California DMV Cheat Sheet & Online Practice Test Bundle is the most complete and easiest way to prepare for your DMV test. You get our downloadable, printable 3-4 page cheat sheet to take with you to review as well as our online practice test system, featuring 100 multiple choice questions and answers similar to those you will come up against when taking the California DMV exam. Our study material cover every chapter of the CA DMV manual including rules of the road, traffic signals, laws, signs and safety.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

English, Spanish, Korean, Japanese and more.
Add To Cart

Getting a California Learner’s Permit

Who needs a learners permit?

Any first time drivers under the age of 18 that have always lived in the state of California are required to obtain a drivers permit.

How old do I need to be to get a learner’s permit?

For a driver’s permit or motorcycle or moped driver’s permit, you must be at least 15 ½ years old but under 18 at the time you apply for the permit.

Requirements to getting a learner’s permit

You will need to provide required proofs of age, identity, citizenship and residency at the time of application. You must be at least 15 ½ years old, have a parent or guardians approval for obtaining a license and able to pass a vision exam. In addition you are required to present your certification of successful completion of Driver’s training when applying.

Cost of a California learner’s permit

The cost of a California’s learner’s permit is 32 dollars. This fee will cover up to three exam tests in a 12 month period and both the learner’s permit and driver’s license upon successful completion of the process.

Steps to getting a California learner’s permit

Follow these simple steps to obtaining your learner’s permit:

  1. Register for an approved driver’s school and complete the course
  2. Read over the California Driver’s Handbook, use as many learning sheets and practice tests from online sources as possible and be fully prepared to take the learner’s permit test.
  3. Gather together all the required proofs of identity, citizenship, age and residency necessary for your application.
  4. Schedule an appointment at the local DMV office to save time and gather all necessary information in a safe place such as a folder.
  5. You will present your application, required proofs, certificate of complete for Driver’s training and the parent or guardian’s written permission of liability.
  6. Take the vision exam and pay the learner’s permit fee.

Driving with a California learner’s permit

You must drive with a licensed parent or guardian, grandparent or pre-approved licensed driver over the age of 21 at all time with your learner’s permit. Be sure that you and parent read over the California Parent-teen Driver’s guide including the checklist before you first time out on the roads. Start slowly with residential areas and work your way up to main roads as you feel more comfortable. Be sure to fulfill the driving requirements for the learner’s permit before attempting to begin the testing process for your license including at least 12 hours of driving after dusk.

Resources