Ca_map

Free California DMV Online Practice Test

You are about to take a FREE Sample of the California DMV Online Practice Test. The sample test consists of 10 multiple choice questions and answers.

Please select the best answer for each question below and then click "Submit."

1. How long after becoming a California resident are you required to get a state driver’s license?

d.
10 days
c.
25 days
b.
20 days
a.
15 days

2. What does a yellow, five-sided shaped sign indicate?

d.
No passing zone
c.
Residential area
b.
School zone
a.
Construction zone

3. What do orange-colored signs warn you of?

d.
A school zone
c.
A traffic signal ahead
b.
Road workers or road equipment ahead
a.
A hospital zone

4. What is the “No-Zone?”

e.
None of the above
d.
No passing zone
c.
No stopping or unloading zone
b.
Construction zone
a.
No parking zone

5. What is the penalty for lending your vehicle to a driver who doesn’t have a license?

e.
None of the above
d.
Immediate 30-day suspension of your license
c.
One-month jail sentence
b.
Immediate revocation of your license
a.
Cancellation of your vehicle insurance

6. In California, anyone who drives a motor vehicle has consented to take a chemical test for the alcohol content of their blood, breath or urine (in certain cases) in which of the following situations?

d.
None of the above
c.
Only if you are stopped under suspicion of drinking and driving
b.
Only if an accident has occurred
a.
If asked by law enforcement

7. How many drinks does it take to impair your driving?

e.
All of the above
d.
One drink
c.
It depends on the person’s height and weight
b.
More than 3 drinks
a.
It depends on the type of alcohol being consumed

8. You are approaching an intersection at the posted speed limit when the signal light turns yellow. You should:

d.
None of the above
c.
Stop before entering the intersection, if you can do so safely
b.
Speed up to cross the intersection before the light turns red
a.
Slow down and proceed through the intersection without caution

9. Effective January 1, 2017 in CA, children up to what age must be in a rear-facing car seat?

c.
18 months of age
b.
2 years of age
a.
1 year of age

10. If "any vehicle," meaning either an automobile or a bicycle, is driving and 5 or more cars are stuck behind the slower vehicle in a non-passable situation, what must the slower driver do or risk receiving a ticket?

c.
Speed up to within 5 mph of the posted speed limit
b.
Turn on the hazards lights and continue driving to the destination
a.
Pull over to the side of the road to let the cars pass