Driver's License

Arkansas Driver's License Written Test

The Arkansas DMV is slightly confusing. There is the Office of Motor Vehicles, which you deal with after you have a license (renewal, suspension, etc) and the Office of Driver Services, which you use for obtaining an Arkansas driver’s license or learner’s permit. You can avoid the confusing by using our material and skipping the site altogether! If you are up for the challenge, you can navigate their site to find the info also.

Study Material Available

DMVCheatSheets.com offers a variety of options to help you easily prepare for and pass the Arkansas Driver's License Written Test.
Sample
View_sample
Sample
Georgia-2
Georgia-3
Georgia-4
List Price:
$12.95
Our Price:
$9.95
You Save:
$3.00 (23%)
The Arkansas DMV Cheat Sheet is a downloadable, immediately accessible 3-4 page reference guide featuring the top 50 questions and answers to help you easily pass your Arkansas driving written test.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

Add To Cart
Img1
View_sample
Img1
Img2
Img3
Img4
English or Spanish
List Price:
$19.95
Our Price:
$14.95
You Save:
$5.00 (25%)
The Arkansas DMV Online Practice Test lets you immediately review over 100 multiple choice questions and answers similar to those you will come up against when taking the Arkansas DMV exam. Our practice tests cover every chapter of the AR DMV manual including rules of the road, traffic signals, laws, signs and safety.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

Add To Cart
Img1
View_sample
Img1
Img3
Img4
Img2
Sample
Georgia-4
Georgia-2
Georgia-3
List Price:
$32.90
Our Price:
$19.95
You Save:
$12.95 (39%)
Included in this bundle:
  • Arkansas DMV Online Practice Test
  • Arkansas ODS Cheat Sheet
The Arkansas DMV Cheat Sheet & Online Practice Test Bundle is the most complete and easiest way to prepare for your DMV test. You get our downloadable, printable 3-4 page cheat sheet to take with you to review as well as our online practice test system, featuring 100 multiple choice questions and answers similar to those you will come up against when taking the Arkansas DMV exam. Our study material cover every chapter of the AR DMV manual including rules of the road, traffic signals, laws, signs and safety.
In Stock - Delivered Immediately Online

Item is available online for you to access immediately after checkout.

Add To Cart

New drivers License in Arkansas

Which license is for you?

Applicants will find a choice of four license types that they may apply if the requirements for each category have been met. Anyone wishing to operate any form of motorized vehicle on the road must first complete the licensing process at a local Motor Vehicle Commission and receive one of the four license types:

  • Class D: www.dmvcheatsheets.com drivers licenses are the most commonly found on the road. Issued to all new drivers and new residents to the state it gives the resident permission to operate a personal vehicle on roadways.
  • Class M licenses ll drivers meeting requirements to operate a motorcycle.
  • Class MD licenses refer to any motor powered vehicle that is not listed under the other classes such as a moped.
  • Class A, B and C commercial licenses are work-specific are issued to those wishing to operate a vehicle for a living. This may include such professions as bus or school bus drivers or the operation of semi-truck hauling goods.

Minors under the age of 18 will be required to fulfill the licensing steps through the graduated license programs which will include a learner’s license (permit), intermediate license and finally a Class D regular license at age 18.

What are the requirements for getting a license?

All new drivers must meet the age requirements for each license type. You may apply for a Class D operator’s license, at 14 years old with several restrictions. A Class M or MD license may be obtained at 16 and all commercial drivers must be at least 18 years of age.
When a new applicant applies for a license, they are required to provide several types of documents at the time of processing. These documents: http://www.arkansashighways.com… are used to prove identity, citizenship and residence in Arkansas and include:

  • No applications are used in the licensing process so that will be one less requirement to worry about.
  • One document from both the primary and secondary approved list, or two from the secondary are required to prove identity, age and the full legal name to be shown on the license.
  • Legal presence must also be verified with one of the approved documents which may include a US passport or US original birth certificate.
  • Minors under age 18 must also provide proof of school enrollment; a document showing the proper grade point average and a parent or legal guardian must be present during the testing processes.
  • All applicants are also required to pay the appropriate licensing fees in the form of cash, check or money order. These include the testing fee of $50 and license fee of $20 at the time of testing.
  • You will also be required to bring the $20 testing fee on the day you take your three mandatory tests.

What tests do I need to take to get a license?

All drivers license testing in Arkansas is done through the Arkansas State Police department.

  • Each new driver will be administered a vision exam and must meet state vision requirements.
  • New drivers must take the written test www.dmvcheatsheets.com in order to move onward in the licensing process. There is a $50 fee for the testing payable at the time it is administered. These tests will asses your knowledge of traffic laws and your ability to understand traffic signs and signals.
  • A Road Test is the final portion of testing and will determine whether or not you can operate your motor vehicle safely on the roads. You must wait 30 days after passing the written test to take the road test portion and receive your driver’s license.

Preparing for the written test

Though the state of Arkansas does not require new drivers to take a drivers education course, it is an excellent way to begin your training as a new driver. Many private schools offer both drivers training, which is behind the wheel driving, as well as driver’s education in a classroom.

Regardless of whether or not you chose to take a course, preparing for the drivers tests is essential if you wish to pass. You can use the Arkansas test study guide along with the Drivers handbook to get an idea of the traffic laws, safety rules and traffic signs you will find on the exam. In addition obtaining cheat sheets from Dmvcheatsheets.com will provide you with all important information necessary to pass on the first try. You will find that Practice tests are also a valuable asset when preparing as they will give you an idea of how well you are learning the material.

What to bring on test day

Licenses are issued by the state revenue office and require several documents to be presented at the time of application in order to be approved for a license. These include two proofs of identification from the reported lists, one proof of legal presence and proof of residency. Applicants must bring original copies of each document showing full legal name that coordinates on each document. A valid social security number must be presented at this time as well or proof showing legal residence in the US.

Minors under the age of 18 must also bring an original birth certificate, proof of school enrollment, proof of at least a 2.0 grade point average and a legal guardian or parent with them on the day of testing.

Taking the drivers test

All new drivers are required to take the driving or practical test as the final step in the licensing process. You must wait 30 days after passing the vision and written exam before you are allowed to take this portion of the testing. It can be through the Arkansas State Police department or through a private driving company certified to test.

A state office will observe your driving skills, which can be intimidating so be sure to prepare with as must practice time on the road as possible beforehand. He will be evaluating your ability to follow traffic laws, read signs and perform maneuvers necessary for safe driving.

Taking the written test

The written test is administered by the Arkansas State Police department and will consist of 25 multiple choice questions. The test questions will be created using practical driving information found in the Drivers Handbook regarding traffic laws, proper handling of the vehicle and traffic signs. You must correctly answer 20 out of 25 questions in order to pass.

Use your study material such as cheat sheets and practice tests available on dmvcheatsheets.com to assure a passing score on the first try. You will also find valuable information located in articles www.dmvcheatsheets.com written to assist you in passing your tests.

Renewing an Arkansas Drivers license

Who needs to renew their license?

Your new driver’s license will be valid for 4 years, expiring on your birthday. You must renew your license in person at the local Revenue office if you wish to continue the privilege of driving.

Steps to renew your license

You will receive a renewal reminder before your license expires which will guide you in the process. It will notify you of the renewal deadline, as will as inform you of any tests you will be required to take. In addition, any outstanding tickets will be listed and must be paid before you can renew. When you visit the office you must bring:

  • Your expiring driver’s license
  • The $20 mandatory renewal fees
  • Any corrective lenses you wear if required to take the vision test, as well as any documentation listed in your renewal notice.

Resources