Ct_map

Master the CT

Connecticut
Driver's Written Test!

About the Connecticut DMV Written Test

To obtain a Connecticut Drivers License you must be 16 years old and a resident of CT. If you are a new driver you are required to pass a vision, written and road test. Driver's 18 or older moving from another state need to pass a vision test, and possibly a written and road test. Bring proof of identity, residence and your social security number, plus pay all fees for a CT license.

Our Proven Study Material

Since 2008 we have helped tens of thousands of people quickly and easily pass their DMV written test.

Whether you are a first time driver getting your permit or just need to renew your license, our material can help. We offer super quick "print and go" cheat sheets as well as more inclusive online practice test questions and answers.

Why It's Not Free

The old adage of "you get what you paid for" is especially true in online education. Every month, our editors are working to add and improve the questions and material we offer, as well as keeping it updated. It takes significant time and money to ensure you get the very best study material available so that you are guaranteed to pass on the first try.

Free sites are nice, but ask yourself, what's the catch?

New Connecticut Driver’s License

Who Needs a Connecticut License?

Any Connecticut resident that is at least 16 years of age wishing to operate a motor vehicle in the state that has never held a driver’s license before or had one from another state or Country that is two or more years expired. Without a currant Connecticut driver’s license it is illegal for residents to operate a motor vehicle within the state.

Which License is for you?

Without the proper information it can be difficult to choose the appropriate license for your needs. This is because there are several different types of licenses to choose from. Picking one depends on several factors such as age. There are types for commercial vehicles, general vehicles, and motorcycles.

What are the Requirements for Getting a License?

To receive a full privilege Connecticut driver’s license a person must either:

  • Complete a written, road, and vision test. As well as work their way through the licensing process
  • Have a driver’s license from another state that has not been expired for over 6 months
    The licensing process includes all of the tests, driver’s education course completion, a fee, and proper documentation.

Questions I need to take to get a License?

You will be required to take a series of tests when applying for any type of driver’s license. The testing process is divided into three parts:

  • The Written Test is a minimum of 25 multiple choice questions and will cover all traffic laws, rules and regulations found in the Digest of Connecticut Motor Vehicle Laws
  • The Vision exam is given to all drivers’ license applicants for any type of license
  • You need to answer correctly 20 out of 25 questions provided.

Taking a Driver’s Education Course

New drivers between the ages of 16 and 18 in the state of Connecticut must complete a state approved commercial or school based driver’s education course. The teen may complete a home based course as long as the teacher is a parent, grandparent, guardian, or spouse. The teacher must certify that the teen has completed 40 hours of behind the wheel training as well as at least 22 hours of home based course work. The new driver must then complete an 8 hour course from an approved commercial or secondary school program. The new driver must also have a minimum of 4 hours of drug and alcohol education.

Preparing for the Written Test and what to Bring

To best prepare for the written test obtain a Connecticut driver’s handbook and study each section carefully. It is also a good idea to take some practice tests which are available online. There are several things that you will need to bring to your test. These things include:

  • Proof of identity
  • Social security card
  • Proof of residency

If under the age of 18 you will also need to bring a parent, legal guardian, or a spouse (18 or over) and have them fill out a parental consent form.

Taking the Drivers Test

Remember to stay calm. It is a good idea to practice as much as possible before taking this test. Be sure that all of you documentation is in order before entering the testing facility to remove unnecessary stress from the experience. The applicant will need a good working vehicle and proof of insurance for that vehicle. You should practice as much as possible with an instructor or other licensed adult in the vehicle intended for testing before attempting the road test.

Taking the Written Test

To prepare for the written exam it is best to obtain a driver’s manual to study, and then take a few practice tests online to gage how well you know the material. Taking a driver’s test can be stressful, try not to let it bother you while taking the test. This is of course easier said than done but it is possible with enough confidence. Get more information on the written test at, http://www.dmvcheatsheets.com/

Renewing your Connecticut Driver’s License

How do I renew my Connecticut Driver’s License and what tests do I have to take?

It is possible to renew a Connecticut driver’s license in person or by mail under certain circumstances, online renewal is not available.

Preparing to Renew Your Connecticut Driver’s License

It is possible to renew your Connecticut driver’s license 120 days before it expires. In the state of Connecticut a driver’s license expires every 6 years unless the driver is over the age of 65 and requests a 2 year license. The renewal of a 6 year license costs $66 and a 2 year license costs $22.

You must bring with you:

  • Your expiring license
  • Renewal reminder

Steps to Take to Renew Your License

Gather the necessary documentation such as:

  • Proof of identity
  • Social security card

If your name has changed since you received your last license a proof of the change will also be required to provide proof of name change such as:

  • A marriage certificate
  • Court house document

Go to a testing site, present documentation, pay the fee, pass a vision test, and take a photo.

Requirements to Get a Learner’s Permit

The applicant must be at least 16 years of age, have parental consent, and provide appropriate documents such as:

  • Social security card
  • Proof of identity
  • Proof of Connecticut residency
  • Proof of address
  • Filled out parental consent form
  • School enrollment form or proof of graduation

The applicant must then pass a written knowledge test as well as a vision test. The applicant will need to pay a $40 testing fee, upon the successful passing of the first 2 tests another fee of $19 will need to be paid to receive the learners permit. A road test will come later after holding the learners permit for an allotted time frame. After successfully completing the road test, an applicant will be eligible to receive a full privilege, non-restricted Connecticut driver’s license.

Driving with a Connecticut Learner’s Permit

The new driver upon receiving their learners permit may drive on the open road as long as they are accompanied by another driver that is at least 20 years of age and have been a licensed driver for no less than 4 years. During the first 3 months of driving with the new learners permit, the new driver may not be accompanied by anyone other than:

  • A licensed parent or legal guardian
  • Instructor
  • Anyone 20 years old or older that has had a valid license for at least four years without suspension.

During the following 3 months the new driver is permitted to have immediate family members in the vehicle while driving. They are also not permitted to drive a vehicle that requires a public permit such as a bus or van pool. Other restrictions include, no talking on a cell phone even if it is hands free, only as many passengers as there are seat belts, and no driving between the hours of midnight and 5:00am.

You can obtain more information on the Connecticut Learner’s Permit at http://www.dmvcheatsheets.com/

100% Money Back Guarantee If You Fail

The DMVCheatSheets Guarantee

If you don't pass your written test after purchasing our study guides we will REFUND you 100% of your purchase.

Study Material Available

Car_heading_w_icon

Connecticut Driver's License Written Test

$14.95
  • Available in English or Spanish
  • Connecticut Learner's Permit Test

    $14.95
  • Available in English or Spanish
  • Motorcycle_heading_w_icon

    Connecticut Motorcycle Written Test