Since 2008 we have helped tens of thousands of people quickly and easily pass their DMV written test.
Whether you are a first time driver getting your permit or just need to renew your license, our material can help. We offer super quick "print and go" cheat sheets as well as more inclusive online practice test questions and answers.
The old adage of "you get what you paid for" is especially true in online education. Every month, our editors are working to add and improve the questions and material we offer, as well as keeping it updated. It takes significant time and money to ensure you get the very best study material available so that you are guaranteed to pass on the first try.
New Ohio Drivers License
Who Needs a License?
If you wish to enjoy the freedom that the privilege of driving has to offer in Ohio, you must successfully complete all of the steps in the application process. The type of license you need to apply for will depend on your age and the type of vehicle you are intending to drive. Possible driver license options available are:
- A “probationary Drivers License” is issued to drivers ages 17 and 18 years old that have completed the graduated license program.
- A standard Drivers License is issued to all drivers over the age of 18 that are first time drivers or new residents of Ohio.
- The Motorcycle license is divided into three separate types: Motorcycle, moped/motorized bicycle and motor scooters
- If you wish to drive a vehicle for a living transporting either materials or passengers, you will need a CDL license.
What are the Requirements for getting a License?
You must be at least 15 ½ years old to begin the process of receiving a driver’s license and at least 16 years of age to apply for a standard driver’s license. In order to receive your license in the state of Ohio, you are required to provide proof of your full legal name including first, last and middle name and your date of birth. You must also supply proof or citizenship or legal presence, residency and provide a social security number. These documents must comply with REAL ID federal regulations and be original documents showing your full legal name. Bring the accepted proofs to your local DMV on the day of application and testing:
- Primary documents can include another state’s driver’s license if you are new resident, an original birth certificate or state ID card. The most effective documents will list your social security number for an easy application process.
- Secondary documents can be a credit card, your health card, marriage certificate or medical records. This document must provide your social security number if the primary document does not.
- Proof of citizenship or legal presence can be in such forms as birth certificate or US passport. You can only use each document for one category so if you only have a birth certificate for this category it is best to find another option for the primary category.
- Proof of residency allows you to use such items as a bank statement, check stub or utility bill as long as the document has not been used already for another category.
What Tests do I need to take to get a License?
You will be required to take a series of tests when applying for any type of driver’s license:
- The Written Test is a minimum of 20 multiple choice questions and will cover all traffic laws, rules and regulations found in the Digest of Ohio Motor Vehicle Laws
- The Vision exam is given to all drivers license applicants for any type of license
- The Road Test is graded on a point system, requiring a minimum score of 25 points to pass. You must supply your own vehicle for testing.
Taking a Drivers Education Course
First time drivers under age 18 must complete an approved driver’s education course with the exception of those applying for a motorized bicycle license. The certificate must be presented during the road test portion of testing for your license. These courses are offered through high schools, commercial driver training schools or military personnel. Non-resident minors applying for a license can present an out-of-state driver education certificate in substitution.
Preparing for the Written Test
The written drivers test consists of 40 multiple choice questions regarding traffic laws, regulations and rules while on Ohio roadways. There are several effective ways you can prepare for the written test:
- Begin by studying your Digest of Ohio Motor Vehicle Laws thoroughly. Each of the multiple choice questions on the written test are based on the material covered in this manual.
- You can also download cheat sheets from dmvcheatsheets.com for a comprehensive guide to all of the material covered in your manual and on the written test itself. In addition, practice tests are available with over 100 of the most commonly found questions on the test, allowing you to fully prepare.
- There are many helpful articles full of tips for passing your tests on the first try you can find at dmvcheatsheets.com.
Scheduling an Appointment
You can schedule your driving test through the online appointment services at www.ohio.gov. All other portions of the driver’s license process are on a walk in basis only.
What to Bring on Test Day
On the day of the written test you will need to bring a filled out drivers license application along with your accepted proofs of identity, legal presence, and residency proof of identity. You will also need your birth certificate and social security card showing your full legal name. In addition, you will need to bring the $2.75 fee for the vision screening in a check, cash or money order.
If you are under the age of 18, you will need to bring proof of successful completion of the driver’s education course before you will be allowed to test.
Costs of Drivers Test
There is no cost for the written test; however you will be required to pay a $2.75 fee for the vision screening, as well as the cost of a driver’s license and lamination charge. The cost of your license will depend on your age:
- Age 16 receiving your restricted license- 24.25$
- Age 17 and anyone 21 or older- 23.00$
- Age 18- 21.75$
- Age 19- 20.50$
- Age 20- 19.25$
Proof of Insurance
It is essential to maintain your insurance if you own a vehicle due to the random selection program in Ohio. Whenever you apply for a new license or permit at the Ohio DMV, you will be asked to sign a financial responsibly form that states you will not drive without liability insurance on pubic roads.
Taking the Driver’s Test
The driving test consists of two parts: The driving and maneuverability portions. Preparing for the test should include reading your Digest of Ohio Motor Vehicle Laws to fully understand all rules and aspects concerning Ohio driving. In addition, study cheat sheets and take several practice tests before beginning your on the road training to familiarize yourself with road signs and signals. Practice as must as possible with your learners permit in order to learn vehicle control for the maneuverability portion of testing.
Questions on the Written Test
The 40 question written test is administered at the DMV office on the day you apply for your license. You must receive at least a 75% score on each portion of testing in order to pass. All questions are generated from your Digest of Ohio Motor Vehicle Laws so is sure to read through it several times. In addition, cheat sheets and practice tests created by dmvcheatsheets.com are designed based on the most commonly found questions on the DMV written test and are excellent study resources.
Renewing your Ohio Drivers License
Who needs to renew their License?
All drivers over the age of 18 must renew their license every five years on their birthday. If the license is renewed more than 90 days prior to the renewal date, it will expire in four years from application date. If the license is within 6 months of expiration, your current license is all the proof you will need to renew. Minor drivers under 21 must renew their license yearly until their 21rst birthday.
How do I renew my OH License?
To renew your license, you must visit your location DMV branch office during business hours and bring your current license. You must retake the vision test with a passing score and take a new photograph at the time of renewal. No other tests are required for renewal unless your license has been expired more than six months at which time you must retake the written portion of testing. There is a standard renewal fee of $25.75 and an additional $10 fee for late renewals.
Steps to renew your License
To renew your license if it is between 90 days before your birthday or 6 months prior to expiration, visit your local DMV office.
- Turn in your renewal application and present your current drivers license as required proof of identity, citizenship and residency.
- Pass the vision test and take a new photograph
- Pay the $2.75 vision testing fee, as well as the $25.75 renewal fee.
If your license has been expired more than 6 months, you will have to provide proof of identity, citizenship and residency. You must take the vision test and pass the written examination in order to be reinstated. In addition to renewal fees, you will be charged an addition late fee.
Getting an Ohio Learners Permit
Who needs a Learners Permit?
All new drivers under the age of 18 are required to follow the steps outlined in the graduated license program which includes obtaining a learners permit. You must be at least 15 ½ years old to apply for a permit.
Requirements to getting a Learners Permit
You must provide proof of residency, citizenship and identity in order to receive your drivers permit. Students may use their certified school records for either their secondary document or as proof of residency but identification can only be used for one category. If you cannot supply an approved proof of residency from the document list, you can submit a certified statement of residency that is signed in front of a DMV clerk by your parent or guardian. A parent or legal guardian must co-sign your application. In addition, you are required to complete an approved driver’s education course before applying for your learners permit.
On the day of your application you will be required to pass the written test with a minimum score of 75% in order to receive your learners permit. You can study for this test in advance using your Digest of Ohio Motor Vehicle Laws, as well as cheat sheets and practice tests www.dmvcheatsheets.com designed by dmvcheatsheets.com. By studying the common traffic signs, rules and laws regarding driving on Ohio roads, you can assure you are fully prepared for testing.
Driving with an OH Learners Permit
You must carry your permit with you at all times while driving and be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian in the front seat of the car. A fifty hour affidavit must be returned signed by the parent or legal guardian, certifying that you have completed the practice driving time requirements of 50 hours. 10 hours must be at night to complete your training. Be sure to spend as must time on the road as possible, and use your Digest of Ohio Motor Vehicle Laws as a guide for what you need to practice. In addition, you can find detailed information regarding what will be on the road tests that you can use to develop a plan for practice.
Cost of an Ohio Learners Permit
There is a $22.00 fee for a new learners permit.
How to get an Ohio Learners Permit
In order to receive your learners permit, you must complete the following steps in person at your local DMV branch:
- Bring the learners permit application, along with required proof of identity, citizenship and residency to the clerk. You must also submit proof that you have completed an approved driver’s education course.
- You will be required to pass a vision test, as well as the written test
- You will be issued your temporary permit after paying the $22.00 fee by check, cash or money order.