(From the Nebraska DMV Manual)
Who Must Have a Nebraska License
- Any Nebraska resident who operates a motor vehicle on the streets and highways of Nebraska must have a license.
- Any new resident with a valid licensefromanotherstatemustobtainaNebraskalicense within 30 days.
h1.Learner ’s Permit – Type LPE
This permit is issued for the purpose of allowing a student to legally practice driving for a School Permit.
NOTE: Individuals applying for an LPE must be eligible for a School Permit and meet all School Permit criteria.
- Minimum Age: 14. May not apply before the 14th birthday.
- Must be accompanied by a licensed motor vehicle driver who occupies the seat beside the driver. Motorcyclists must be accompanied by a licensed motorcycle operator within visual contact. Note: Such licensed motor vehicle or motorcycle operator shall be at least 21 years of age and licensed by this state or another state.
- Testing: Vision and written tests.
- Expiration: Three months following the date of issuance.
Learner’s Permit – Type LPD
This permit is issued to allow a person to legally practice driving for a Provisional Operator’s Permit (POP), Operator’s (Class O) or Motorcycle (Class M) License.
- Minimum Age: 15. May apply 60 days before 15th birthday, issuance must be on or after 15th birthday.
- Permit holder must be accompanied by a licensed driver at least 21 occu-
pying the seat beside the driver. Motorcyclists must be accompanied by a licensed motorcycle operator who is at least 21 within visual contact.
- Testing: Vision and written tests. The written test will be waived if a school learner’s permit (LPE) has been issued.
- Expiration: One year following the date of issuance.
General Permit and License Information
- Proof of identity and age required for all permits and licenses. See Section 1C-1.
- A social security number or valid US Citizenship and Immigration Services I-94 or I-94A document (in a valid foreign passport) is required for all permits and licenses.
- Licenses issued to individuals under the age of 21 expire on the license holder’s 21st birthday. Licenses issued to individuals 21 or older expire on the license holder’s birthday in the ?fth year after issuance.
- Any individual under 21 who holds a POP or license and who accumulates within any 12-month period a total of six or more points on their driving record will be required to attend and successfully complete a driver improvement course. This course will consist of at least eight hours of instruction. If an individual fails to complete the course within three months after noti?cation by the Department, their POP or license will be suspended.
- The holder of an LPE, SCP, LPD or POP shall not use any type of interactive wireless communication device while operating a motor vehicle. Interactive wireless communication device means any wireless electronic communication between two or more parties, including, but not limited to, a mobile or cellular phone, or a text messaging device, a personal digital assistant that sends or receives messages, an audio-visual player that sends or receives messages, or a laptop computer.
- Any individual who renews his or her license which was valid for only one year or less will not be required to take the written and drive test administered by a Driver’s License Examiner unless the license has a bioptic restriction on it.
Obtaining Your License
U.S. Based Proof of Identi?cation
Nebraska statutes require one form of identi?cation which includes name and date of birth for driver’s licenses and permits. Two forms of identi?cation, one which includes name and date of birth, are required for Nebraska ID Cards.
Original Documents Only – photocopies cannot be accepted.
In the event of a name change, please be aware that documents on this list will be required to be presented to the Driver’s License Examiner tying all names together.
Individuals under the age of 18 will be required to provide a certi?ed birth certi?cate or a certi?ed birth registration (hospital issued not acceptable) to the Driver’s License Examiner as proof of identity. Individuals under 18 presenting foreign based birth certi?cates will be required to present an accompanying U.S. based document.
A complete list of all required documents can be found in the Nebraska DMV Cheat Sheet or online on Nebraska’s DMV website
Social Security Number
All social security numbers will be veri?ed thru the Social Security Administration. Bring proof of your social security number with you when making application for a license, permit or state identi?cation card.
You will be required to take and pass a vision test, written test and road test. If you fail any of the above, the examiner will indicate to you when you can retake your test.
The Nebraska DMV Cheat Sheet contains
- Steps to getting your license
- What To Bring To The Dmv
- Requirements for getting your license
- DMV Fees
- 50 Essential Question & Answer study guide questions
- Traffic signs & signals you MUST know!
- Website and Phone for your state's DMV if you have questions
- View on your computer, tablet and now mobile phone!
- Our unconditional money back guarantee
The "Nebraska DMV Cheat Sheet" will teach you everything you need to know to pass your written test in just FOUR pages guaranteed!
If you don't pass your written test after purchasing our study guides we will REFUND you 100% of your purchase.