What to Expect During the License Process as a Teen Driver in Florida
Once your teen reaches the age of 15 they may begin the process to receive their first driver’s license in Florida. This is a time of both anticipation and excitement though the process can seem a bit confusing at first glance. There are specific documents that must be provided, steps to be taken both prior to application and during the procedure and requirements that must be met before your teen will enjoy the full privileges of operating a motor vehicle on roadways.
There are several reasons for what may seem like an overly complicated and drawn out procedure for a teen to receive their first license. Teen drivers are involved in most of the accidents in the state of Florida and many are fatal. Research shows this has a lot to do with their inexperience behind the wheel and tendency to make wrong decisions when faced with an emergency situation. In addition, distracted driving is becoming a serious problem among all drivers, especially those under 18. This includes the use of cell phones and other electronic devices, drinking and driving and even the distractions of other passengers.
The DMV has created specific steps to assure new drivers have the opportunity to practice before joining the other drivers on roadways and the testing process shows the DMV they are prepared to be a safe driver. Documentation that is required is used to fully assure that no one may obtain a license, which is the primary form of ID in the US unless they are legally allowed to reside in the country. This also serves to protect your teen against identity theft. So there is a rhyme to the reason behind this detailed program that must be followed.
What Steps must my Teen take to be licensed?
The program follows a specific and organized guideline with steps that must be completed in order to receive a license. These steps include:
The teen will begin by visiting a DMV branch office in person accompanied by a parent or guardian. A learner’s permit application must be completed and sign as well as a parent consent form. The consent form must be signed by the parent in front of a DMV clerk to be valid. The consent form, application and required documents will be submitted for approval to the DMV clerk. Documents will include:
To make the process easier, the Florida DMV has issued a list of approved documents you may use in each category that can be found in the Drivers Handbook and online. Read through to assure you have all original and approved documents. Once all documents have been approved, the teen will then take a vision screening and written exam in order to receive a learner’s permit.
The written exam will consist of 30 to 40 multiple choice questions on the rules of the road and traffic laws in the state. The teen may only answer 5 test questions incorrectly before they will fail so it is essential they study in advance. This can be done using the driver’s handbook or cheat sheets offered by dmvcheatsheets.com to assure a passing grade. Teens are recommended to take several practice tests as well before beginning this process.
Once the teen has acquired a learner’s permit they are required to complete requirements of practice to assure they are ready to safely drive on roadways. During the 12 months a learner’s permit http://www.dmvcheatsheets.com is held, the teen driver must complete at least 50 hours of driving practice time with a licensed supervisor over the age of 21. 10 of these hours must be done during nighttime hours.
The Final License Process
Once the teen has practiced the required time and held a permit for 12 months, they may apply for a license on their 16th birthday. This process is similar to the learners permit process and includes:
The teen driver will then take the written test again and cannot answer more than five questions incorrectly to pass. The final step in this process however will include an addition road skills test, showing the DMV that the teen has acquired the skills and knowledge to safely drive on public roads.