How to Renew Your Connecticut CDL license

Toyota-prius-d
by Joshua on July 06, 2014
Ct_cdl

So it’s time to renew your Connecticut Commercial Driver’s License . It is important that you follow the proper steps of renewal so you can continue to be a commercial driver in a timely manner. You do not want your Commercial Driver’s License to expire or lapse as the fines are tremendous if you drive with an expired license. Make sure to know when your license expires and plan ahead so you do not have to scramble at the last minute to renew your license. It is important to plan ahead and stay on top of keeping your license valid so you can keep your driving career going without a hitch!

CDL Forms

When it is coming close to having your Connecticut Commercial Driver’s License renewed, the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles will send you a renewal form via mail. This form will include instructions on how to renew your license. Please notify the DMV immediately if you have any address changes. You legally have 48 hours to notify of an address change. You must visit your local Connecticut DMV office to renew your Commercial Driver’s License; this cannot be done online.If you haul hazardous materials you will need to go in person to your local Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles office for your endorsement renewal.
If you never received your form or have lost it, you can download it online here. You can also visit your local DMV office and pick up a new form.

H2.Documents for Renewal

You will need to provide accurate and up to date documents in order to renew your Commercial Driver’s License. These documents are:

  • Your Current Commercial Driver’s License
  • Copy of U.S. Department of Transportation Medical Exam Certificate of Connecticut’s Medical Exam Certificate.
  • Printed Confirmation of Self Certification with the Department of Motor Vehicles.
  • Renewal Application Form

Please be aware that you must pass a physical examination every two years to keep your Connecticut Commercial Driver’s License. You will need to send proof into the Department of Motor Vehicles. You must also carry your Medical Exam Certificate with you at all times when driving your commercial vehicle.
All applicants for CDL renewal must self-certify via the Department of Motor Vehicles website and print out the confirmation sheet for proof of Self Certification. This website can be found here

Fees for Renewing Your Connecticut CDL

Commercial Driver’s Licenses are renewed every four years for a fee of $70. If you have a public passenger restriction or endorsement, the fee for every four years is $118. If your Commercial Driver’s License becomes expired, there will be a $25 late fee to reinstate your CDL.

Acceptable Forms of Payment

In Connecticut, depending on where you renew your Commercial Driver’s License will depend on what type of payment for is accepted.
Department of Motor Vehicle Offices and Limited DMV Service Offices: Payment forms that are accepted are: cash, personal checks, money orders, bank checks, Visa, MasterCard, and Discover. Most debit cards are accepted as long as they have the Visa/MasterCard logo. Make Checks payable to the Department of Motor Vehicles.
Department of Motor Vehicles Centers for Photo Licenses: Cash cannot be accepted the Photo License Centers due to security purposes. You can pay with personal checks, money orders, bank checks, Visa, MasterCard, and Discover. Most debit cards are accepted as long as they have the Visa/MasterCard logo. Make Checks payable to the Department of Motor Vehicles.
AAA Offices: AAA can charge you a $3 convenience fee for Department of Motor Vehicle payments. Acceptable forms of payment at your local AAA offices are cash, personal checks, money orders, bank checks, Visa, MasterCard, and Discover. Most debit cards are accepted as long as they have the Visa/MasterCard logo. Make Checks payable to the Department of Motor Vehicles. AAA offices can only accept non-commercial driver license renewals and Identification renewals. Any other renewals must be made at your local Connecticut DMV office.
Checks that come from foreign banks and any type of third party check cannot be accepted at any location. Make sure that your check or credit/debit card has the proper funding in your account. There are fees for returned checks and rejected credit/debit cards. The fee table is:

  • Transactions that amount to $200 or less have a fee of $35.00.
  • Transactions that amount to $201 or more have a fee of 15% of the original amount.
  • Any fees charged cover the collection costs.

These fees will be added to the original amount of the renewal fees. If you do not pay your fees and penalties your credentials can be revoked and you could possibly be denied of having future transactions at the Department of Motor Vehicles.
In closing, make sure that you stay on top of your CDL renewal and enjoy your driving career!

100% Money Back Guarantee If You Fail
If you don't pass your written test we will REFUND you 100% of your purchase with us.

What Are You Studying For?

Truck
CDL